From sketch to model- intro to Fusion 360

Arielle Castro
3 min readOct 13, 2020

--

I was really excited to begin this project because I finally caught up from surgery. I have never worked with any 3D modeling, so I was eager to do something this creative. I researched different 3D modeling software that was geared towards fashion designers because I had an urge to make a pleated skirt. I thought this might be a difficult task because of the pleats, but I remained encouraged, nonetheless. I found one called CLO and downloaded it after seeing some interesting tutorials. I was heavily disappointed when I tried to open the software on my Mac and it refused to open.

I then tried to download another comparable software called Marvelous Designer and ran into exactly the same issue. I researched it and realized it was a software issue and not a personal computer issue.

I saw that another software called Blender was a popular choice among fashion designers (I’m not trying to be a fashion designer as a reminder, I’m just obsessed with clothes 😫), so I downloaded it and was finally successful in opening it. I watched a few tutorials and began to play with the software, but I found it difficult and wanted to see if there was something a little more intuitive.

I decided to start watching some tutorials about Fusion 360, as it seemed to be the preferred method, and it also appeared more intuitive than Blender. I was frustrated at the videos I was trying to follow though, because they were using the earlier version, and the newer had a lot of different components that I could NOT FIND. I spent a long time trying to figure out the differences, but went back to Blender because of the frustration. I restarted with a tutorial about making a shirt. I got tricked into staying with it for longer than I wanted, however, and decided I really disliked Blender altogether. I needed to find the right software to make my pleated skirt…!

I realized I took way too much time with the CLO and Marvelous Designer fiascos, and I also played around with Blender for forever. So I went back to Fusion 360! I finally found a YouTube tutorial that was up to date and used the same version of Fusion 360! It was about making a custom stamp and I decided to follow it step by step. The interface seemed more intuitive than Blender, and it was!

The video seemed to be as informative, and the instructor was very good…but, I had to pause, go back, and rewatch things about a million times with no exaggeration. I kept missing something really simple or I would do something slightly wrong and the whole project would mess up. Also, the undo button is ridiculous and doesn’t necessarily do the undo’s we’re used to on other platforms. It can’t merely undo your previous task, it undoes the ENTIRE action and it was more than frustrating, to say the least.

After spending hours watching and doing a 34 minute YouTube tutorial (and hours previous to it on research and trial/error), I decided I was proud of my custom stamp and that I would save my pleated skirt for another time…

I also ran into trouble embedding my Sketchfab to here, but I think it’s because I don’t have an upgraded account? I tried a bunch of things and it’s not uploading here so I’ll include my link, some images, and the Sketchfab HTML code below…

<div class=”sketchfab-embed-wrapper”>
<iframe title=”A 3D model” width=”640" height=”480" src=”https://sketchfab.com/models/af9b0772d7b9474eba7463d5b620cce1/embed?autostart=0&amp;camera=0&amp;ui_controls=1&amp;ui_infos=1&amp;ui_inspector=1&amp;ui_stop=1&amp;ui_watermark=1&amp;ui_watermark_link=1" frameborder=”0" allow=”autoplay; fullscreen; vr” mozallowfullscreen=”true” webkitallowfullscreen=”true”></iframe>
<p style=”font-size: 13px; font-weight: normal; margin: 5px; color: #4A4A4A;”>
<a href=”https://sketchfab.com/3d-models/custom-stamp-fusion-af9b0772d7b9474eba7463d5b620cce1?utm_medium=embed&utm_source=website&utm_campaign=share-popup" target=”_blank” style=”font-weight: bold; color: #1CAAD9;”>Custom stamp fusion</a>
by <a href=”https://sketchfab.com/relcastro?utm_medium=embed&utm_source=website&utm_campaign=share-popup" target=”_blank” style=”font-weight: bold; color: #1CAAD9;”>relcastro</a>
on <a href=”https://sketchfab.com?utm_medium=embed&utm_source=website&utm_campaign=share-popup" target=”_blank” style=”font-weight: bold; color: #1CAAD9;”>Sketchfab</a>
</p>
</div>

--

--